‘The Walking Dead’ to Return on February 28th, Episode Synopses Revealed

Jackson Lee Davis/AMC

Since latest episode of The Walking Dead aired at the beginning of October after being delayed due to the pandemic, fans have been eager to learn when the next six episodes of the current season will begin to air. Normally, The Walking Dead only has sixteen episodes per season – that latest episode was the sixteenth of Season 10, but in July, it was announced that Season 10 would be extended with six additional episodes. On Thursday, it was revealed that those next six episodes are going to begin airing on AMC every Sunday starting on February 28th, 2021, while fans who are subscribed to AMC+ through an eligible TV provider will gain access to each episode every Thursday starting on February 25th! Hilarie Burton Morgan, Robert Patrick, and Okea Eme-Akwari are joining the cast.

In Thursday’s press release, AMC also released the synopses for each of the upcoming six episodes, which are listed below.

Episode 17 – “Home Sweet Home”

Maggie (Lauren Cohan) has returned with a story she is not ready to share, even when her past catches up to her. Negan’s (Jeffrey Dean Morgan,) safety is at stake again. Daryl (Norman Reedus) and Maggie fight an unseen and unknown threat.

Episode 18 – “Find Me”

An adventure for Daryl and Carol (Melissa McBride) turns sideways when they come across an old cabin. It takes Daryl back to the years when he left the group after Rick disappeared as he relives a time that only the apocalypse could manifest.

Episode 19 – “One More”

Gabriel (Seth Gilliam) and Aaron (Ross Marquand) search for food and supplies to bring back to Alexandria. Small tragedies lead to bigger tragedies as faith is broken and optimism is fragmented when they are put to the ultimate test.

Episode 20 – “Splinter”

Eugene (Josh McDermitt), Ezekiel (Khary Payton), Yumiko (Eleanor Matsuura), and Princess (Paola Lázaro) are captured and separated. Princess struggles with memories of her traumatic past and tries to escape one way or another with the help of Ezekiel.

Episode 21 – Diverged

Daryl and Carol come to a fork in the road and head their separate ways. Each going into their own type of survival mode, the easiest of challenges become much harder. Will their individual journeys be the tipping point needed to mend their friendship or is the distance between them permanent?

Episode 22 – “Here’s Negan”

Carol takes Negan on a journey, hoping to minimize the increasing tension. Negan reflects on the events that led him to this point and comes to a conclusion about his future.

There have also been a few clips from virtual table reads posted on the official YouTube channel for The Walking Dead. One of them shows a few cast members reading the script of the scene when Maggie and Negan see each other again. Check it out below!

For now, fans can enjoy both, The Walking Dead: World Beyond, and Fear The Walking Dead on AMC and AMC+. What are you most excited to see in this upcoming extended season of The Walking Dead? Let us know in the comments below!